Quick Answer
Polar undercuts the matching Garmin by $50 at the two tiers most people shop — the Vantage M3 is $499.99 against the Forerunner 570's $549.99, the Vantage V3 is $699.99 against the Forerunner 970's $749.99 — and at the M3's price it adds on-watch maps and 32 GB that the Garmin does not have. Garmin keeps contactless payments, music storage, an app store and three case sizes per line, and it publishes battery life per GPS mode where Polar does not. Buy Polar if the watch is a training instrument. Buy Garmin if it also has to be your everyday device. At the bottom of each range the discount flips: Polar's Ignite 3 is $399.99 against a $299.99 vivoactive 6.
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links — we may earn a small commission if you buy through them, at no extra cost to you. See our affiliate disclosure for details.
Polar sells you more watch for the money and Garmin sells you more of everything around the watch. At the two price points most people actually shop — roughly $500 and roughly $700 — Polar is $50 cheaper than the Garmin it lines up against, and at $500 it throws in on-watch maps and 32 GB of storage that the Garmin does not have. Garmin answers with contactless payments, music on the wrist, an app store, three case sizes per model line and battery figures published per GPS mode rather than per training intensity.
We don't own a watch from either brand. We rank wearables on manufacturer specs read against each other, prices pulled from each brand's own US store, and — the part that matters most here — what each company will and won't put in print. On this matchup the gaps in what gets published turned out to be more revealing than the specs.
Last reviewed: October 2026
Quick Comparison
| Product | Best For | Price | Key spec | Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Polar Vantage M3 | Best overall — most watch per dollar | $499.99 | Dual-frequency GPS, offline maps, 32 GB, 53 g, replaceable battery | 4.7 |
| Garmin Forerunner 970 | Runners who want Garmin's full platform | $749.99 | 21 hrs all-systems + multi-band, built-in maps, sapphire, titanium bezel | 4.7 |
| Polar Vantage V3 | Polar's flagship, triathlon and recovery data | $699.99 | 1.39" AMOLED, 488 mAh, 43 hrs performance mode, wrist ECG, maps | 4.5 |
| Garmin Forerunner 570 | The direct Vantage M3 rival | $549.99 | 13 hrs all-systems + multi-band, Garmin Pay, music, 42 g, 8 GB | 4.4 |
| Polar Grit X2 Pro | Outdoor and trail, Polar side | $999.99 | Sapphire, MIL-STD-810H, WR100, 140 hrs eco mode | 4.4 |
| Garmin fenix 9 | Outdoor and expedition, Garmin side | From $999.99 | 64 GB, 10 ATM, sapphire, titanium case (51 mm: 31 days) | 4.6 |
| Polar Ignite 3 | Sleep and everyday wellness | $399.99 | 34 g, 10.16 mm thin, 1.28" AMOLED, 88 hrs eco mode | 3.8 |
| Garmin vívoactive 6 | Everyday health watch on a budget | $299.99 | 23 g case, 21 days battery saver, Garmin Pay, music | 4.5 |
| Polar Pacer Pro | Lightest running watch here | $299.90 | 41 g, MIP screen, 30 hrs performance mode, barometer | 4.2 |
| Garmin Forerunner 70 | Cheapest watch in the comparison | $249.99 | 41 g, AMOLED, 20 hrs GPS-only, Garmin Pay | 4.3 |
Prices last checked 7 October 2026 on polar.com/us-en and garmin.com/en-US, read off each product page's own price field, and they move — confirm the current price on the brand's own site before you buy.
The reason this comparison is harder than it looks: the battery numbers don't line up
Every Polar vs Garmin article you will read puts a battery figure from one brand next to a battery figure from the other. Almost none of them are comparing the same thing, and once you see why, half the internet's advice on this matchup stops being usable.
Garmin publishes battery life per satellite mode. The Forerunner 570's spec sheet gives you smartwatch mode at up to 10 days, GPS-only at 18 hours, SatIQ at 14 hours, and all-systems GNSS plus multi-band at 13 hours — then the same four again with music playing, at 9, 8 and 8 hours. You can pick the row that matches how you actually run.
Polar publishes battery life per training intensity. The Vantage M3 gives you Performance training mode at 30 hours, Eco training mode at 70 hours, and smartwatch mode at 7 days. Polar does not publish a separate figure for dual-frequency GPS switched on versus off, even though the M3 has dual-frequency GPS and says so one row above.
So "Polar 30 hours vs Garmin 13 hours" is not a comparison. It is two different experiments printed in the same font. Polar's Performance mode is continuous GPS with continuous wrist heart rate; what it is not doing to reach 30 hours is something Polar leaves unstated, where Garmin spells out the trade in four labelled rows. If you race with multi-band on and want to know what you will get, Garmin tells you and Polar does not.
That asymmetry cuts both ways on honesty. Garmin's own headline marketing picks the flattering row — the Forerunner 570's product description leads with "up to 18 hours of battery life", which is GPS-only, not the 13 hours a racer running multi-band will see. Both numbers are Garmin's. Only one of them is the one you need.
The practical rule: compare smartwatch mode to smartwatch mode, where both brands mean roughly the same thing (7 days on the Vantage M3, 10 on the Forerunner 570, 15 on the Forerunner 970), and treat every GPS-mode figure as brand-specific until you have found the matching row.
Price by tier: Polar is $50 cheaper twice, then stops being cheaper
Checked on 7 October 2026, this is how the two ranges pair up:
| Tier | Polar | Garmin | Gap |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flagship outdoor | Grit X2 Pro, $999.99 | fenix 9, from $999.99 | Parity |
| Flagship multisport | Vantage V3, $699.99 | Forerunner 970, $749.99 | Polar $50 less |
| Mid-range | Vantage M3, $499.99 | Forerunner 570, $549.99 | Polar $50 less |
| Lifestyle | Ignite 3, $399.99 | vívoactive 6, $299.99 | Polar $100 more |
| Entry sport | Pacer Pro, $299.90 | Forerunner 70, $249.99 | Polar $49.91 more |
The "Polar is the value brand" story holds at the two tiers in the middle and inverts at the bottom of both ranges. At $399.99 the Ignite 3 is a 34 g AMOLED wellness watch with no contactless payments, no music storage and a WR30 water rating; the $299.99 vívoactive 6 has Garmin Pay, music storage, a 5 ATM rating and 21 days in battery-saver mode. That is $100 less for more watch, and it is the single clearest result in this whole comparison.
One thing worth knowing before you read any Grit X2 Pro price: the product page carries a $999.99 headline and then shows $899.99, $999.99 and $1,099.99 across its variants on the same screen. Price the exact colour and case you want, not the number at the top.
Subscriptions: both brands sell one now, and Polar's US price isn't in dollars
The received wisdom is that Garmin has a subscription and Polar does not. That stopped being true.
Garmin sells Garmin Connect+ at $6.99 a month in the US. The core Garmin Connect app stays free and nothing your watch does is locked behind the tier — it buys app-side analysis and nutrition features. Garmin still does not publish a US annual price on that page, only the monthly.
Polar now sells Polar Fitness Program, an adaptive workout-plan subscription, and Polar Flow itself remains free — Polar's own support page answers "Is Polar Flow free?" with "Polar Flow remains free", and says a Fitness Program subscription is not required to fully enjoy Polar products or the Flow service. The compatible list runs right across the range: Vantage M3, Vantage V3, Grit X2 Pro, Grit X2, Ignite 3, Pacer Pro, Street X and older models.
Here is the part we did not expect. On Polar's US page for the Fitness Program, the price is printed as 9,99 €. A euro figure, euro decimal comma and all, on polar.com/us-en. Polar publishes no US dollar price for its own subscription on its own US store. A free trial is offered; no trial length is published. We are not going to convert the euro figure and present it as a dollar price — that would be inventing a number Polar has not stated.
Net result on subscriptions: a wash. Neither brand paywalls hardware features, both sell an optional software tier, and both are vague about exactly what it costs you per year in the US.
Polar Vantage M3 — $499.99
Polar's best argument. A 53 g case, 44 mm across and 12 mm thick, with a 1.28-inch AMOLED at 416 × 416 and an always-on mode, 32 GB of storage, dual-frequency GPS on the L1 and L5 bands, and offline maps that ship preloaded for North America and Europe with other continents free to download in Flow. Battery is a 310 mAh cell rated at 30 hours in Performance training mode, 70 hours in Eco, and 7 days as a watch — and Polar states the battery is replaceable, which no Garmin in this comparison claims.
A detail that takes two minutes of reading to catch: Polar's own product page describes the M3 as having "over 150 sports profiles" in its headline copy and "over 170 sports profiles" in the sport-features section further down the same page. Both are Polar's. We would take the figure with a pinch of salt and buy the watch for the maps.
Pros: On-watch maps and 32 GB at $499.99; dual-frequency GPS; 53 g; replaceable battery; wrist ECG; rated to operate from -20 °C to 50 °C. Cons: No contactless payments; no on-watch music; Polar publishes no dual-frequency-specific battery figure; sport-profile count contradicts itself on Polar's own page. Best for: Anyone who wants maps on their wrist without crossing $500.
Garmin Forerunner 970 — $749.99
Garmin's best running watch and the most complete device in this comparison. Sapphire crystal lens, titanium bezel, 5 ATM, a 454 × 454 AMOLED, built-in mapping, speaker and microphone, Garmin Pay, music storage and multi-band GPS. Battery is published in seven labelled rows: 15 days smartwatch, 26 hours GPS-only, 23 hours SatIQ, 21 hours all-systems plus multi-band, and 14, 13 and 12 hours for the same three with music.
That 21-hour multi-band figure is the honest headline for a racer, and the fact that Garmin prints it alongside the flattering 26 is the strongest thing we can say about how Garmin documents its hardware.
Pros: Built-in maps, sapphire and titanium, speaker and mic, Garmin Pay, music, Connect IQ apps, battery published per GPS mode. Cons: $250 more than the Vantage V3's $699.99 for a watch with a smaller screen; the full Garmin platform is also the full Garmin learning curve. Best for: Runners and triathletes who want the watch to be their everyday device too.
Polar Vantage V3 — $699.99
Polar's flagship. A 1.39-inch AMOLED on a 48 mm, 13 mm, 56 g case, 488 mAh, 32 GB, dual-frequency GPS, offline maps, wrist ECG and Polar's full recovery stack. Battery: 10 days smartwatch, 43 hours Performance training mode, 140 hours Eco. WR50.
The spec row most people assume is a yes is a no — Polar does not list sapphire glass on the V3, where the Grit X2 Pro at $999.99 does, and the $749.99 Forerunner 970 does. At $699.99 that is the one material compromise in the watch, and it is the reason we rate the M3 above it on value: the V3 is $200 more than the M3 for a bigger screen, a bigger battery and the same glass.
Pros: 43 hours in Performance mode; 1.39-inch AMOLED; wrist ECG; dual-frequency GPS and maps; 150 sport profiles. Cons: No sapphire at $699.99; $200 over the Vantage M3 for mostly size; no Garmin Pay or music equivalent. Best for: Polar loyalists and triathletes who want the biggest Polar battery without going outdoor-spec.
Garmin Forerunner 570 (42 mm) — $549.99
The watch the Vantage M3 is aimed at, and the matchup where Polar wins on paper. The 570 is 42 g, 42.4 × 42.4 × 12.9 mm, with a 1.2-inch 390 × 390 AMOLED behind Corning Gorilla Glass 3, an aluminium bezel, 5 ATM, 8 GB of memory, a speaker and microphone, Garmin Pay, music storage and multi-band GPS. Battery: 10 days smartwatch, 18 hours GPS-only, 14 SatIQ, 13 all-systems plus multi-band.
What it does not have is built-in mapping. For maps in Garmin's running line you are going from $549.99 to the $749.99 Forerunner 970 — a $200 step. Polar charges $499.99 for a watch with maps. That is the clearest single-feature gap in either direction here.
Pros: Garmin Pay, music storage, multi-band, speaker and mic, 42 g, Garmin's app and accessory ecosystem. Cons: No built-in maps; 8 GB against the Vantage M3's 32; $50 more than the Polar it competes with. Best for: Buyers who want Garmin's ecosystem and will never load a map.
Polar Grit X2 Pro — $999.99
Polar's outdoor flagship, and the only Polar here with sapphire glass. A 48.3 mm, 12.7 mm, 79.4 g case, 1.39-inch AMOLED, WR100, MIL-STD-810H durability, 32 GB, 488 mAh, dual-frequency GPS and offline topographic maps. Battery matches the V3 — 10 days smartwatch, 43 hours Performance, 140 hours Eco.
At this price it is going head to head with the fenix 9's entry point, and that is a hard fight: 32 GB against 64, WR100 against 10 ATM, and no Garmin Pay, music or app store. Polar's counter is a genuinely lighter watch than the 51 mm fenix, which weighs 99 g.
Pros: Sapphire glass; MIL-STD-810H; WR100; 140 hours in Eco mode; topo maps; 20 g lighter than the 51 mm fenix 9. Cons: At $999.99 it is no longer undercutting Garmin; variant prices on the same page run to $1,099.99; half the storage of the fenix 9. Best for: Trail and expedition users already inside Polar's training ecosystem.
Garmin fenix 9 — from $999.99
Garmin's top multisport watch, and the entry in this comparison that needs a warning label rather than a spec dump.
The fenix 9 comes in 43, 47 and 51 mm. The $999.99 figure is the 43 mm entry price. When we selected the 43 mm variant on Garmin's own product page on 7 October 2026, the specification table did not change — it kept serving the 51 mm figures: 51 × 51 × 15.8 mm, 99 g, a 1.5-inch 466 × 466 display, up to 31 days in smartwatch mode and up to 151 hours in Max Battery activity mode. Those are real numbers for a real watch. They are not the numbers for the watch that costs $999.99. Other variants on the same page run $1,099.99, $1,149.99 and $1,249.99.
What is common across the line and safe to quote: sapphire crystal, titanium bezel and case, 10 ATM, 64 GB, built-in mapping, Garmin Pay, music, speaker and mic, multi-band GPS and an AMOLED rated up to 3,000 nits.
Pros: 64 GB; 10 ATM; sapphire and titanium; three case sizes; the deepest feature set of any watch here. Cons: Garmin's own page does not publish per-case-size battery figures where you select the case size — assume nothing about the 43 mm from the headline 31 days; price climbs fast past the entry variant. Best for: Buyers who want one watch to cover expeditions, triathlon and daily life, and who will check the exact variant's specs before paying.
Polar Ignite 3 — $399.99
The thinnest and lightest watch in the comparison: 34 g, 43.2 mm across, 10.16 mm thick, with a 1.28-inch AMOLED behind Gorilla Glass and a 215 mAh battery rated at 18 hours Performance, 88 hours Eco and 5 days as a watch. WR30. No offline maps. Polar's sleep and recovery tools are the reason to own it.
It is also the weakest value proposition on this page, and we are not going to dress that up. At $399.99 it is $100 more than Garmin's vívoactive 6, which has contactless payments, music storage, a 5 ATM rating rather than WR30, and 11 days of battery against 5. If the Ignite 3's sleep tracking is what you specifically want, buy it. If you are shopping on specs, the Garmin wins this one outright.
Pros: 34 g and 10.16 mm — genuinely disappears on a small wrist; 1.28-inch AMOLED; Polar's sleep and recovery analysis; 88 hours in Eco mode. Cons: $100 more than a better-specified Garmin; WR30 only; no payments, no music, no maps; 5-day battery. Best for: Small wrists and sleep tracking, if those two things outrank everything else.
Garmin vívoactive 6 — $299.99
The best-value watch in either lineup, and it is Garmin's. A 23 g case (36 g with the band) at 42.2 × 42.2 × 10.9 mm, 1.2-inch 390 × 390 AMOLED, Gorilla Glass 3, anodised aluminium bezel, 5 ATM, Garmin Pay and music storage. Battery: 11 days smartwatch (5 with the display always on), 21 days in battery saver, 21 hours GPS-only, 17 hours all-systems.
No multi-band GPS row on the spec sheet, which is the honest limitation — this is not a racing watch. For everything else at $299.99 it is hard to argue with.
Pros: $299.99 with Garmin Pay and music; 23 g case; 21 days battery saver; 5 ATM; wheelchair mode. Cons: No multi-band GPS; no built-in maps; plastic case. Best for: Everyday health tracking and casual training, on the smallest sensible budget.
Polar Pacer Pro — $299.90
The outlier, and the one watch here we would still consider on purpose. A 41 g, 45 mm, 12 mm case with a 1.2-inch MIP display — not AMOLED — a barometer, WR50 and no offline maps. Battery: 30 hours Performance training mode, 139 hours Eco, 6.5 days smartwatch.
The MIP screen is the trade. It looks flat and dull next to every AMOLED on this page, and in direct sunlight it is easier to read than any of them while costing a fraction of the power — which is how a $299.90 watch gets the same 30-hour Performance figure as the $499.99 Vantage M3. If you train outdoors in bright light and resent charging things, that is not a compromise, it is the point.
Pros: 30 hours Performance mode and 139 hours Eco at $299.90; 41 g; barometer; MIP screen readable in full sun. Cons: MIP display looks dated; no maps; no payments or music; $49.91 more than the Forerunner 70. Best for: Outdoor runners who want battery and daylight legibility over a bright screen.
Garmin Forerunner 70 — $249.99
The floor of this comparison. 41 g, 42.6 × 42.6 × 11.9 mm, a 1.2-inch 390 × 390 AMOLED behind chemically strengthened glass, a fibre-reinforced polymer bezel, 5 ATM and Garmin Pay. Battery: 10 days smartwatch (4 with always-on), 19 days battery saver, 20 hours GPS-only, 14 hours all-systems. No multi-band, no maps, no music.
For $249.99 you get Garmin's training metrics, Garmin's app, Garmin's accessory compatibility and contactless payments. It is the cheapest honest running watch in either range.
Pros: $249.99 with Garmin Pay and an AMOLED screen; 41 g; 19 days in battery saver; full Garmin ecosystem. Cons: No multi-band, no maps, no music storage; chemically strengthened glass rather than Gorilla Glass or sapphire. Best for: A first GPS running watch, or a backup.
How to choose between them
You want the most watch per dollar. Polar Vantage M3, $499.99. Maps, 32 GB, dual-frequency GPS and a replaceable battery at $50 under the Garmin that has none of the first three.
The watch also has to pay for coffee and play music. Garmin, at any tier. No Polar in this comparison does contactless payments or on-watch music storage, and no firmware update is going to add them.
You are shopping under $350. Garmin vívoactive 6 at $299.99 if you want a smartwatch, Garmin Forerunner 70 at $249.99 if you want a running watch, Polar Pacer Pro at $299.90 if you want battery life and a screen you can read in full sun.
You race and want to know what multi-band GPS costs you in hours. Garmin, because it publishes that number and Polar does not. The Forerunner 570 gives 13 hours, the Forerunner 970 21.
You are coming from a WHOOP, an Oura or an Apple Watch. Read WHOOP vs Garmin, fitness trackers without a subscription and COROS vs Garmin first — those are different trades, and the subscription question dominates all three. More comparisons live on our recovery hub, and our about page explains how we rank this gear.
FAQ
Is Polar better than Garmin?
At $499.99 and $699.99, Polar gives you more hardware for the money — the Vantage M3 at $499.99 has offline maps, 32 GB and dual-frequency GPS against a $549.99 Forerunner 570 with no mapping and 8 GB. Garmin is better at everything that is not the watch: contactless payments, on-watch music, the Connect IQ app store, three case sizes per line, a far larger accessory market, and battery figures published per satellite mode so you can see what your actual settings cost. Pick Polar if the watch is a training instrument. Pick Garmin if it is also your everyday device.
Does Polar have a subscription?
Polar Flow is free — Polar's own support page says so in those words — and no watch feature is behind a paywall. Polar does now sell an optional subscription called Polar Fitness Program, an adaptive workout-plan service, compatible with the Vantage M3, Vantage V3, Grit X2 Pro, Ignite 3, Pacer Pro and most of the back catalogue. Polar's US page prices it at 9,99 €, in euros, on a US store page, and publishes no US dollar figure. Garmin's equivalent is Garmin Connect+ at $6.99 a month in the US, with the core Garmin Connect app still free.
Which Polar watch is equivalent to the Garmin Forerunner 570?
The Vantage M3 at $499.99, $50 below the Forerunner 570's $549.99. The Polar adds offline maps preloaded for North America and Europe, 32 GB of storage against 8 GB, and a replaceable battery. The Garmin adds Garmin Pay, music storage, multi-band GPS with a published 13-hour runtime in that mode, and Garmin's app ecosystem. Same price bracket, genuinely different watches.
Do Polar watches have maps?
Yes, on three current models. The Vantage M3, Vantage V3 and Grit X2 Pro all carry offline maps on 32 GB of storage, preloaded for North America and Europe with other regions downloadable free in Polar Flow; the Grit X2 Pro adds topographic layers. The Pacer Pro and Ignite 3 do not have maps. This matters because Garmin's cheapest running watch with built-in mapping is the $749.99 Forerunner 970 — Polar sells mapping from $499.99.
Is Polar GPS as accurate as Garmin?
Both brands put dual-frequency GPS — Garmin calls it multi-band — on their current mid-range and flagship watches, which is the meaningful hardware question, and there is no published head-to-head measurement that settles it either way. Polar lists dual-frequency GPS on the Vantage M3, Vantage V3 and Grit X2 Pro; Garmin lists multi-band on the Forerunner 570, Forerunner 970 and fenix 9 but not on the vívoactive 6 or Forerunner 70. The difference is what each brand tells you about the cost: Garmin publishes 13 hours on the 570 and 21 on the 970 in that mode, where Polar publishes no dual-frequency-specific figure at all.
Which has better battery life, Polar or Garmin?
In smartwatch mode, where the two brands are measuring the same thing, Garmin: 10 days on the Forerunner 570 and 15 on the Forerunner 970 against 7 days on the Vantage M3 and 10 on the Vantage V3. In GPS modes the figures are not comparable, because Garmin publishes per satellite mode and Polar publishes per training intensity. Polar's Eco training mode numbers look enormous — 70 hours on the Vantage M3, 140 on the Vantage V3 and Grit X2 Pro, 139 on the Pacer Pro — but Polar does not state what Eco mode gives up to get there, so setting them against Garmin's labelled rows proves nothing.
Is the Polar Ignite 3 worth buying at $399.99?
Only if its sleep and recovery tracking is specifically what you want, or you need a 34 g, 10.16 mm watch for a small wrist. On specs it loses to Garmin's $299.99 vívoactive 6 on price, water rating (WR30 against 5 ATM), battery (5 days against 11), contactless payments and music storage. That is $100 more for less watch, and it is the clearest mismatch in this comparison.
Can you use a Polar watch with Strava?
Yes. Polar Flow pushes workouts to Strava automatically, and the watches broadcast heart rate over Bluetooth to other devices and apps. What Polar does not have is Garmin's Connect IQ store, so there is no on-device third-party app layer and no Garmin Live Segments equivalent. If you want apps, faces and data fields from other developers running on the watch itself, that is a Garmin-only feature in this comparison.
Our Verdict
If we were buying one watch today with our own money it would be the Polar Vantage M3 at $499.99. Dual-frequency GPS, offline maps preloaded for two continents, 32 GB, wrist ECG and a replaceable battery in a 53 g case, for $50 less than a Forerunner 570 that has no mapping and 8 GB. On hardware per dollar at that price point, it is not close.
We would also be honest about what Polar is not giving you, because for a lot of people it is the deciding factor. No contactless payments. No music on the wrist. No app store. One case size. And no published answer to "how long does the battery last with dual-frequency GPS on", which Garmin prints in four labelled rows. If your watch is also your wallet and your everyday computer, the Forerunner 970 at $749.99 is the better buy and the Polar is not a substitute for it.
Below $350, forget the brand loyalty — Garmin wins that end of the market on specs, with the vívoactive 6 at $299.99 and the Forerunner 70 at $249.99. The one Polar we would still choose down there is the Pacer Pro at $299.90, and only because a MIP screen in bright sun and 30 hours of training battery are worth more to some runners than an AMOLED.
Our Top Pick
Polar Vantage M3
From $499.99
Before you buy
Where the premium is materials, not marketing
We take the spec sheets apart across saunas, cold plunge, red light and recovery — and show where the flagship price buys real hardware, and where it just buys the logo.
Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you purchase through these links, Bankroll Zen may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we genuinely believe in. Learn more in our affiliate disclosure.