Disclosure: We may earn affiliate commission on these guides. This does not influence our product recommendations or decision criteria
Last verified: 2 October 2026
Quick answer
The Sun Home Luminar 5 ($14,499) is the best outdoor infrared sauna: an aluminum-clad, cedar-lined cabin with double-pane glass that Sun Home says operates below 25°F and reaches 170°F. The Luminar 2 ($11,599) is the two-person version. On a budget, the SunRay Grandby runs about $3,800 to $4,000.
Most infrared cabins are built for indoor use. Put one on a patio and the warranty can end. This guide covers only cabins the maker sells and warrants for outdoor placement.
Our Best Outdoor Saunas guide covers barrels and wood-fired cabins and draws on three years of owning one. This guide is built on documents. We have not tested these cabins ourselves.
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. See our affiliate disclosure for details.
Quick comparison
| Pick | Sauna | Price | Capacity | Outdoor warranty | Circuit | Max temp (maker) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Sun Home Luminar 5 | $14,499 | 5 | Limited lifetime; 3 years on the exterior cabin | 240V, 30A GFCI | 170°F |
| Best for two | Sun Home Luminar 2 | $11,599 | 2 | Limited lifetime; 3 years on the exterior cabin | 240V, 20A GFCI | 170°F |
| Best mid-price cedar cabin | Enlighten Sierra 2, outdoor version | $5,695 to $6,495 | 2 | 3 years outdoors, parts only | 120V, 20A | 149°F |
| Budget pick | SunRay Grandby HL300D | $3,790 to $3,990 | 3 | 7 years structure, 1 year parts | 120V, 20A | 140°F |
Prices checked 2 October 2026. Sun Home prices are regular list; the Luminar 5 showed $13,899 in its fall sale that day. Enlighten and SunRay prices and specs come from dealer listings. Confirm every price before you buy.
How we ranked
A sauna made this list only if it passed one test: the maker sells that model for outdoor placement and keeps the warranty valid outdoors. An indoor cabin under a patio roof does not count.
That rule removes a lot of cabins. Dynamic's warranty covers indoor use only, and SunRay and Enlighten both say an indoor model placed outside loses its cover.
Among the cabins that passed, we ranked on seven things:
- Outdoor warranty in writing. How long, and what voids it.
- Exterior and roof. Metal, cedar or hemlock, and how much upkeep each needs.
- Glazing. Double-pane glass holds heat better in cold air.
- A cold-weather statement. Any published operating range.
- Electrical. Voltage, amperage and whether a GFCI circuit is required.
- Heat evidence. A maker's ceiling is not the same as a temperature someone independent observed.
- Price and delivery. A published price, and how the cabin arrives.
Evidence labels used in this guide
| Label | What it means |
|---|---|
| Independent editorial tested | A third-party reviewer used the product and reported what happened |
| Manufacturer documented | The spec comes from the brand's own page or manual |
| Retailer documented | The spec comes from a dealer listing because we could not confirm it with the brand |
| Not disclosed | We found no current source, so the cell says so |
We did not locate an independent cold-weather warm-up test for any outdoor infrared sauna here. Where a maker says a cabin works in the cold, we say it is the maker's statement.
The picks
1. Sun Home Luminar 5: best overall
Price: $14,499 regular; $13,899 on Sun Home's site on 2 October 2026 | Type: Full-spectrum infrared | Capacity: 5-person
The Luminar leads because its exterior is not wood. Sun Home wraps a Canadian red cedar interior in an aerospace-grade aluminum shell with thick double-pane black glass and a soft-close door.
That matters outdoors. A cedar or hemlock exterior needs oiling or sealing to survive weather, and an aluminum one does not. A fitted all-weather cover is included, and Sun Home says using it is optional.
On cold, Sun Home states the Luminar operates below 25°F and that cold air extends warm-up time. It publishes no lower limit and no warm-up curve, so treat this as the maker's statement.
Heat comes from five far-infrared carbon panels and ten full-spectrum glass-tube heaters, with a published maximum of 170°F. Garage Gym Reviews observed about 160°F in its hands-on review, so read 170°F as a ceiling and not a typical session.
It needs a dedicated 240V, 30-amp GFCI circuit with a NEMA L6-30 outlet, installed by a licensed electrician. Budget $500 to $1,500 for that work, depending on the run from your panel.
The cabin measures 82.25 in wide, 51.75 in deep and 84 in high, with a 24 in door. The product page lists 1,070 lb, while older reviews list 1,270 lb, so confirm the weight on the spec sheet before you plan a deck.
It arrives palletized at the curb. The prefabricated panels go together with two or more people in about half a day, on a level, load-bearing surface with good drainage.
The warranty is Sun Home's limited lifetime cover on cabinetry and heaters, with 3 years on the exterior cabin and controls and 1 year on lighting, glass and audio. Parts, labor and shipping are covered for the first 90 days. After that, labor and shipping are yours.
Two outdoor conditions matter. The warranty is void if the sauna sits within 5 feet of a water source such as a cold plunge or hot tub. The roof is also not built to carry more than a foot of snow, so you clear it.
Independent coverage is strong. Fortune named it best outdoor sauna overall. The Good Trade's Luminar review covers installation and daily use, though it was published in partnership with Sun Home.
The lab documents behind the Luminar are covered in our Best Low-EMF Infrared Saunas guide.
Pros
- Aluminum exterior, so there is no wood shell to oil or seal
- Double-pane glass and a published cold-weather statement
- Highest published maximum here at 170°F, with about 160°F independently observed
- Price, manuals and spec sheet all public
- App control over Wi-Fi
Cons
- $14,499, plus a 240V circuit
- Observed heat came in below the published maximum
- Garage Gym Reviews calls it more of a four-person sauna
- 5-foot water rule complicates a tight contrast setup
- No published snow or wind load rating beyond the one-foot snow limit
- Red light is a $1,699 add-on
Verdict: The most complete outdoor infrared cabin in this guide, and the only pick for which we found independent hands-on heat data. You pay for it.
2. Sun Home Luminar 2: best for two
Price: $11,599 regular | Type: Full-spectrum infrared | Capacity: 2-person
This is the same build in a 57 in wide footprint: aluminum exterior, cedar interior, double-pane glass and the same warranty terms.
It uses three far-infrared and six full-spectrum heaters and needs a dedicated 240V, 20-amp GFCI circuit with a NEMA L6-20 outlet. The published maximum is also 170°F.
We found no independent temperature reading for the two-person model. The 160°F observation above was on the Luminar 5.
Pros
- Same weatherproof build in a smaller footprint
- Lower circuit requirement than the Luminar 5
Cons
- $11,599 is the highest cost per seat in this guide
- No independent heat reading for this size
Verdict: Buy it if two seats are enough and the yard is small. If you can fit the Luminar 5, the extra $2,900 buys three more seats.
3. Enlighten Sierra 2, outdoor version: best mid-price cedar cabin
Price: $5,695 to $6,495 at dealers on 2 October 2026 | Type: Full spectrum, eight heaters | Capacity: 2-person
Enlighten sells the Sierra for outdoor use with a second, shingled roof over the cabin's flat one, in a peak or slope style. Dealers list western red cedar inside and out, insulation and double-pane tempered glass.
It is simple to power. Dealer listings show 2,250 watts on a 120V, 20-amp circuit with a NEMA 5-20 plug, so there is no 240V install. Heat comes from two full-spectrum and six carbon heaters, with a 149°F maximum.
The warranty tells the story. Dealers list 7 years for indoor residential use and 3 years outdoors, and the published terms cover parts only, not labor. That drop is an honest measure of what weather does to a wood cabin.
The peak-roof version is 50 in wide, 50 in deep and 96 in high, at 725 lb. Prices vary by dealer and roof style, so compare two or three before you order.
Pros
- Explicit outdoor warranty in writing
- Runs on a 120V, 20-amp circuit
- Cedar inside and out at about half the Luminar 2's price
Cons
- 149°F maximum is 21°F below the Luminar's published figure
- Outdoor warranty is 3 years and covers parts only
- Cedar exterior needs regular upkeep
- We found no cold-weather statement and no independent testing
Verdict: The sensible middle. You get a real outdoor rating and a simple power hookup, and you give up heat and warranty length.
4. SunRay Grandby HL300D: budget pick
Price: $3,790 to $3,990 at retailers on 2 October 2026 | Type: Infrared, ceramic heaters | Capacity: 3-person
The Grandby is the cheapest outdoor-rated infrared cabin we found. Dealers describe a sealed Canadian hemlock cabin with a shingled roof, 72 in wide, 47 in deep and 83 in high, at 510 lb.
Dealer listings give SunRay's warranty as 7 years on the structure and 1 year on parts. One listing says the registration card must be returned within 90 days, and that using a SunRay indoor model outside voids the warranty. Buy the outdoor model.
Dealer listings agree on the basics: a 120V, 20-amp supply at 2,100 watts, ETL and CSA certification, and a 140°F maximum. They disagree on the heater count, showing seven or eight ceramic heaters, so confirm it with the seller.
Pros
- Lowest price in this guide
- Three seats
- Runs on a 120V, 20-amp circuit
- Roofed and sealed for outdoor placement
Cons
- 140°F maximum is the lowest in this guide
- Hemlock exterior needs the upkeep any outdoor wood cabin needs
- 1-year parts warranty
- Listings disagree on the heater count
- No independent testing found
Verdict: A fair way to get outside for under $4,000. Go in knowing how little is documented.
Outdoor specs compared
| Model | Exterior and roof | Glazing | Cold-weather statement | Circuit | Size and weight | Outdoor warranty | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Luminar 5 | Aluminum exterior, cedar interior | Double-pane black glass | Operates below 25°F (maker) | 240V, 30A GFCI, NEMA L6-30 | 82.25 x 51.75 x 84 in; 1,070 lb | Limited lifetime; 3 years exterior cabin | Manufacturer documented; heat independently observed at about 160°F |
| Sun Home Luminar 2 | Aluminum exterior, cedar interior | Double-pane black glass | Operates below 25°F (maker) | 240V, 20A GFCI, NEMA L6-20 | 57 in wide | Limited lifetime; 3 years exterior cabin | Manufacturer documented |
| Enlighten Sierra 2, outdoor | Cedar cabin, double roof with shingles | Double-pane tempered glass | Not disclosed | 120V, 20A, NEMA 5-20 | 50 x 50 x 96 in with peak roof; 725 lb | 3 years, parts only | Retailer documented |
| SunRay Grandby HL300D | Hemlock cabin, shingled roof | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | 120V, 20A | 72 x 47 x 83 in; 510 lb | 7 years structure, 1 year parts | Retailer documented |
Not disclosed means we could not find the figure in a current source. It does not mean the cabin lacks the feature.
What to check before you buy
- Get the outdoor warranty in writing. Ask what voids it: placement near water, snow load, missing covers or late registration.
- Price the power first. The Luminar needs a 240V GFCI circuit, which costs $500 to $1,500 with a licensed electrician. The Sierra and the Grandby run on a dedicated 120V, 20-amp circuit, which usually costs less.
- Build the base. You need a level, load-bearing surface that drains. On a deck, check the load rating against the cabin's weight plus the people in it.
- Plan for cold. Infrared heats you directly, but cold air slows the cabin's warm-up. An app with remote preheat helps on winter mornings.
- Keep water at a distance. Sun Home voids its sauna warranty within 5 feet of a cold plunge, hot tub or shower. Lay out a contrast setup with that gap.
- Ask about snow and wind. Sun Home says the Luminar roof should not carry more than a foot of snow. We found no engineered snow or wind rating for any cabin here.
- Decide if infrared is the right heat. If you want 180°F and steam from water on stones, read Infrared vs Barrel Sauna before you spend.
Considered but not ranked
- Indoor infrared cabins under a patio roof. Dynamic's warranty is for indoor use only, and outdoor placement voids it. SunRay and Enlighten say the same of their indoor models, so check before you move any cabin outside.
- Outdoor hybrid cabins. Some brands, including Golden Designs, sell outdoor cabins that pair infrared panels with a stone heater. That is a different product, and we have not evaluated it here.
- Barrels and wood-fired cabins. Almost Heaven, ALEKO and Allwood are covered in Best Outdoor Saunas.
- Sun Home Solaris. It is an outdoor traditional sauna, not infrared, and starts at $37,199.
Frequently asked questions
Can you put an infrared sauna outside?
Only if the maker rates that model for outdoor use and the warranty covers it. Indoor cabins from Dynamic, SunRay and Enlighten lose their cover outdoors under the makers' published terms. The Luminar, the outdoor Sierra and the Grandby are all sold for outdoor placement.
What is the best outdoor infrared sauna?
The Sun Home Luminar 5 at $14,499. It has an aluminum exterior, a cedar interior, double-pane glass, a published 170°F maximum and independent hands-on heat data. The Luminar 2 is the two-person version at $11,599.
How hot do outdoor infrared saunas get?
Maker ceilings in this guide run from 140°F to 170°F. The only independently observed figure is about 160°F on the Luminar 5. A traditional barrel runs hotter, at 170°F to 190°F.
Do outdoor infrared saunas work in winter?
Sun Home says the Luminar operates below 25°F, with a longer warm-up in cold air. We did not locate an independent cold-weather test for any model here. Preheat by app where you can, and clear snow from the roof.
What electrical supply does an outdoor infrared sauna need?
Both Luminar models need a dedicated 240V GFCI circuit: 20 amps for the two-person and 30 amps for the five-person. Budget $500 to $1,500 for an electrician. Dealer listings show the Sierra 2 and the Grandby on a 120V, 20-amp circuit.
Outdoor infrared or barrel sauna: which should I buy?
Choose infrared for lower air temperatures, quick weekday sessions and less exterior upkeep. Choose a barrel for 180°F heat and steam from water on stones. Our Infrared vs Barrel Sauna guide compares both.
How much does an outdoor infrared sauna cost?
The cabins in this guide run from $3,790 to $14,499. Add electrical work and a level base on top.
Sources and verification dates
| Source | What it supports | Read on |
|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Luminar 5 product page | Price, heaters, circuit, glazing, cold statement, size, weight, snow note, both Luminar spec tables | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Sun Home warranty information | Warranty terms and the 5-foot water rule | Sept 2026 |
| Garage Gym Reviews, Sun Home review | Observed Luminar temperature of about 160°F | Jul 2026 |
| Fortune, Best Outdoor Saunas | Luminar 5 named best outdoor sauna overall | 2 Oct 2026 |
| The Good Trade, Luminar review | Installation and ownership detail; published in partnership with Sun Home | Sept 2026 |
| AnySauna, Enlighten Sierra 2 outdoor listing | Sierra price, circuit, and the 3-year outdoor and 7-year indoor warranty | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Steam and Sauna Shop, Sierra 2 peak roof listing | Sierra heaters, maximum temperature, cedar, roof, dimensions and circuit | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Recovery for Athletes, Sierra 2 listing | Sierra price range, double-pane glass, double roof and weight | 2 Oct 2026 |
| US Bath Store, Enlighten Sierra listing | Enlighten warranty text: parts only, labor not included | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Select Fitness, SunRay Grandby listing | Grandby price, circuit, wattage, certification and 140°F maximum | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Topture, SunRay Grandby listing | SunRay warranty terms, registration and heater count | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Walmart, SunRay Grandby listing | Grandby price | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Golden Designs warranty details | Dynamic indoor-only warranty | Jul 2026 |
| Bankroll Zen, Best Outdoor Saunas | Barrel temperatures and electrical cost range | 2 Oct 2026 |
Our Top Pick
Sun Home Luminar 5
From $14,499
Before you buy
Where the premium is materials, not marketing
We take the spec sheets apart across saunas, cold plunge, red light and recovery — and show where the flagship price buys real hardware, and where it just buys the logo.
Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you purchase through these links, Bankroll Zen may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we genuinely believe in. Learn more in our affiliate disclosure.