Disclosure: We may earn affiliate commission on these guides. This does not influence our product recommendations or decision criteria
Last verified: 2 October 2026
Quick answer
The Sun Home Nova 3 ($12,499) is the best complete indoor traditional sauna: a cedar cabin with a 6 kW HUUM DROP heater included and a published 230°F maximum. The Nova 6 ($16,399) seats a family. On a tighter budget, Almost Heaven's Bridgeport 6 starts near $6,000, and a pre-cut kit suits a room you frame yourself.
Our Best Home Saunas guide names a heater, the Harvia KIP, as its traditional pick. That works if you are building a room. If you are not, you need a complete cabin.
This guide separates three things that get mixed up: complete cabins, room kits and heaters. It compares each only with its own kind.
We have not tested these cabins. We found no independent temperature test for any of them, so every maximum below is the maker's figure.
Affiliate disclosure: This post contains affiliate links. See our affiliate disclosure for details.
Quick comparison
| Pick | Product | Type | Price | Heater included | Circuit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best overall | Sun Home Nova 3 | Complete cabin, 3-person | $12,499 | HUUM DROP, 6 kW | 30A, hardwired |
| Best for families | Sun Home Nova 6 | Complete cabin, 6-person | $16,399 | HUUM DROP, 7.5 kW | 40A, hardwired |
| Best value cabin | Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 | Complete cabin, 6-person | $6,036 to $7,624 | Harvia; 8 kW in dealer listings | 240V, 40A |
| Best room kit | Finnish Sauna Builders pre-cut kit | Room kit, 21 sizes | By size and wood | Harvia, your choice | Set by the heater |
| Heater only, not ranked | Harvia KIP | Heater | $1,120 to $1,310 | Not a sauna | Dedicated 240V |
Sun Home prices are regular list prices checked 2 October 2026; its fall sale was live that day. The Bridgeport range runs from dealer listings on 2 October 2026 to Almost Heaven's own price on 29 August 2026. The KIP price is from our Best Sauna Heaters coverage.
How we ranked
The first job is to stop comparing unlike things. A $1,200 heater is not cheaper than a $12,000 cabin. It is one part of a room you still have to build.
| Type | What arrives | What you still supply |
|---|---|---|
| Complete cabin | Walls, ceiling, benches, door, heater and controls | A level floor, ceiling clearance and an electrician |
| Room kit | Pre-cut lining, benches, door, vapor barrier and heater | A framed, insulated room, ventilation and an electrician |
| Heater only | The heater and stones | Everything else |
We rank complete cabins first, because a finished sauna with one order and one warranty is the simplest route. Room kits follow. Heaters are listed and not ranked.
Within each type, we ranked on eight things:
- Heater included, and its size in kW.
- Published maximum temperature.
- Circuit. Amperage, and whether it is hardwired.
- Ceiling height and clearance.
- Wood and bench layout. Two bench levels matter, because the heat is at the top.
- A published price.
- Warranty, and what it leaves out.
- Total finished cost, not sticker price.
Evidence labels used in this guide
| Label | What it means |
|---|---|
| Manufacturer documented | The spec is on the brand's own page |
| Retailer documented | It comes from a dealer listing |
| Estimated | We worked it out from stated inputs and show the arithmetic |
| Not disclosed | We found no current source, so the cell says so |
The picks
1. Sun Home Nova 3: best overall
Price: $12,499 regular | Type: Traditional electric, complete cabin | Capacity: 3-person
The Nova is a complete indoor cabin in Canadian cedar with the heater included. One order covers the walls, ceiling, two bench levels, glass door, controls and a 6 kW HUUM DROP heater with stones.
Sun Home publishes a 230°F maximum, the highest published figure in this guide. You pour water on the stones for steam, which infrared cabins cannot do.
The heater runs on HUUM's UKU controller and the HUUM app, so you can start it before you get home. It needs a dedicated 30-amp, 240V circuit, hardwired by a licensed electrician.
Check your ceiling first. Sun Home calls for about 24 inches of clearance above the cabin, which rules out a standard 8-foot ceiling. Measure before you order.
Sun Home lists a limited lifetime warranty for the Nova. The heater is covered by HUUM's own terms, and cover after the first 90 days is for replacement parts only, with no labor. Read the warranty page in full.
Two gaps remain. Sun Home does not publish the Nova's bench dimensions or weight, so ask if you want to lie flat or are placing it upstairs. The Nova launched on 1 July 2026, and we found no independent test of it yet.
Pros
- Complete cabin with a 6 kW HUUM DROP heater included
- 230°F published maximum
- Cedar build with two bench levels
- Remote start by app
- Price published
Cons
- $12,499 is far more than the Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6, which seats six
- Needs roughly a 9-foot ceiling
- Hardwired 30-amp circuit
- Parts-only cover after 90 days
- Bench dimensions and weight not published
- No independent testing yet
Verdict: The most complete package in this guide: cabin, heater and controls in one order. Buy it for the heat and the build, and only if your ceiling allows it.
2. Sun Home Nova 6: best for families
Price: $16,399 regular | Type: Traditional electric, complete cabin | Capacity: 6-person
The Nova 6 is the same cedar cabin scaled up, with a 7.5 kW HUUM DROP heater and the same 230°F published maximum. It needs a dedicated 40-amp hardwired circuit.
The extra $3,900 over the Nova 3 buys three more seats and a larger heater. The ceiling clearance, warranty terms and unpublished bench dimensions are the same.
Pros
- Six seats with the heater included
- Same 230°F maximum and app control
Cons
- $16,399 before electrical work
- 40-amp circuit
- Same ceiling requirement as the Nova 3
Verdict: The pick for a household that will use it together. If price leads, the Bridgeport 6 seats the same number for less than half.
3. Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6: best value cabin
Price: $6,036 to $6,241 at a dealer on 2 October 2026; $7,624 on Almost Heaven's own site on 29 August 2026 | Type: Traditional electric, complete cabin | Capacity: 6-person
The Bridgeport 6 is a complete indoor cabin from a U.S. maker we already cover in our Almost Heaven review. Dealer listings include a Harvia 8 kW heater with delayed start, stones, three benches, backrest lighting and a tempered glass door.
The heat figures are not like for like. Sun Home publishes a 230°F maximum for the Nova. Almost Heaven says the Bridgeport's heater reaches 180°F within an hour, which is a heat-up claim, and dealers list up to 180°F. We did not locate independent temperature testing for either cabin.
It fits rooms the Nova does not. The cabin is 86 in wide, 63 in deep and about 77.6 in high, so it stands under a standard 8-foot ceiling. Confirm the clearance in the manual.
Almost Heaven also publishes bench dimensions. The upper bench is 81.25 in long and 24 in deep, which is long enough to lie on.
The heater needs a 240V, 40-amp circuit, and the lighting runs on a separate 110V, 15-amp supply. Assembly is yours to do. One owner review on Almost Heaven's site reports three hours from delivery to first use.
If six seats is too many, the Madison is the 2 to 3 person version: 65 in wide, 53 in deep, with a Harvia 6 kW heater. We could not capture its price on 2 October 2026.
Pros
- Six seats for less than half the Nova 6's price
- Published bench dimensions
- Fits under an 8-foot ceiling
- Harvia heater included
Cons
- No published maximum temperature; the 180°F figure is a heat-up claim
- Price varies by seller, wood and heater option
- 40-amp circuit plus a separate lighting supply
- You assemble it
Verdict: The spend-smart pick. You accept a lower published heat claim, and you keep about $9,000 against the Nova 6.
4. Finnish Sauna Builders pre-cut kit: best room kit
Price: By size, wood and heater; confirm with a dealer | Type: Room kit | Sizes: 21 room sizes
A room kit lines a room you have already framed and insulated. Dealer listings for this one include wall and ceiling boards in three wood options, benches in several layouts, a foil vapor barrier, an all-glass door, duckboard flooring and a Harvia heater with stones.
You choose the heater: the Harvia KIP, Cilindro, Spirit or Virta, with built-in or Wi-Fi controls. A no-heater option exists if you already own one.
This route suits a basement corner or a spare room where a freestanding cabin will not fit. You supply the framing, insulation, ventilation, electrician and labor. Our DIY Sauna Build guide covers what that really costs.
We could not verify a kit price or warranty on 2 October 2026. Finlandia Sauna, which has built saunas since 1964, sells similar precut kits with Harvia heaters.
Pros
- Fits spaces a cabin cannot
- Heater, door, benches and vapor barrier in one order
Cons
- You build and insulate the room
- No price or warranty verified for this guide
Verdict: The right choice if the room is awkward or you have a contractor. It is a project, not a product.
Heater only: Harvia KIP (listed, not ranked)
The KIP costs $1,120 to $1,310 and comes in 3 to 8 kW sizes for rooms of 84 to 425 cubic feet. It is our pick among heaters, and it is one line of a build budget.
See Best Sauna Heaters for the full range. Do not set its price beside a finished cabin.
Specs compared
| Product | Type | Heater | Circuit | Published heat claim | Wood | Price | Evidence status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Nova 3 | Complete cabin, 3-person | HUUM DROP 6 kW, included | 30A, hardwired | 230°F maximum | Canadian cedar | $12,499 | Manufacturer documented |
| Sun Home Nova 6 | Complete cabin, 6-person | HUUM DROP 7.5 kW, included | 40A, hardwired | 230°F maximum | Canadian cedar | $16,399 | Manufacturer documented |
| Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 | Complete cabin, 6-person | Harvia, 8 kW in dealer listings | 240V, 40A, plus 110V lighting | 180°F within an hour; no stated maximum | Rustic cedar or fir | $6,036 to $7,624 | Manufacturer and retailer documented |
| Almost Heaven Madison | Complete cabin, 2 to 3 person | Harvia 6 kW, included | Not disclosed | 180°F in an hour; no stated maximum | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Manufacturer documented |
| Finnish Sauna Builders kit | Room kit, 21 sizes | Harvia, your choice | Set by the heater | Set by the heater | Three options, including western red cedar | Not disclosed | Retailer documented |
| Harvia KIP | Heater only | 3 to 8 kW | Dedicated 240V | Set by the room | None | $1,120 to $1,310 | From our heater guide |
The heat figures in this table are makers' and dealers' claims, and they are not the same kind of claim. A stated maximum and a heat-up time cannot be compared directly. We found no independent temperature test for any of these products.
Total finished cost and install checks
Sticker price is not finished cost. These are our estimates, with the arithmetic shown.
| Route | Sticker price | Add | Estimated finished cost |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sun Home Nova 3 | $12,499 | Electrician, $500 to $1,500 | $12,999 to $13,999 |
| Sun Home Nova 6 | $16,399 | Electrician, $500 to $1,500 | $16,899 to $17,899 |
| Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 | $6,036 to $7,624 | Electrician, $500 to $1,500 | $6,536 to $9,124 |
| Room kit | By size | Framing, insulation, ventilation, electrician and labor | Not estimated; see our DIY Sauna Build guide |
| Heater only | $1,120 to $1,310 | The entire room | Not estimated; the heater is one line of the budget |
The electrician range is the one we use for a 240V circuit in our other guides. A short indoor run can cost less.
Running costs are small. A 6 kW heater running for one hour uses 6 kWh, about $1.02 at $0.17 per kWh. A 7.5 kW heater costs about $1.28 an hour, and an 8 kW heater about $1.36.
Before you order, check seven things:
- Ceiling height. Add the maker's clearance to the cabin height. The Nova needs about 24 inches above it.
- The circuit. Confirm amperage, whether the heater is hardwired, and the breaker type the manual calls for.
- The floor. Use a hard, level surface that tolerates water. Carpet is out.
- Ventilation. Follow the heater manual. In a room kit, plan the vents into the framing.
- Moisture. A room kit needs its foil vapor barrier behind the lining. A complete cabin is self-contained.
- The delivery path. Measure doors, stairs and turns for the longest panel.
- Weight. Ask for it if it is not published, especially for an upstairs room.
Considered but not ranked
- Almost Heaven Sanctum at Costco. Costco lists this six-person cedar cabin with a 6 kW Harvia heater and Wi-Fi control on a 240V, 30-amp circuit. We could not confirm a current price. See our Costco Saunas review.
- Golden Designs traditional indoor cabins. Golden Designs sells traditional indoor cabins too. We have not evaluated them for this guide.
- Infrared cabins. A different kind of heat at lower air temperatures. See Traditional vs Infrared Sauna.
- Outdoor barrels and cabins. These belong outdoors. See Best Outdoor Saunas.
- Saunas for a business. Warranty terms change for commercial use. See Best Commercial Saunas.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best indoor traditional sauna?
The Sun Home Nova 3 at $12,499 is the best complete cabin: cedar, a 6 kW HUUM DROP heater included and a published 230°F maximum. The Almost Heaven Bridgeport 6 is the value pick, from about half the price.
Should I buy a complete cabin or a room kit?
Buy a complete cabin if you want one order, one warranty and a short install. Buy a room kit if the space is awkward and you have a contractor, or the skills to frame and insulate a room.
What electrical supply does an indoor traditional sauna need?
The cabins in this guide need a dedicated 240V circuit, hardwired by a licensed electrician. The Nova 3 needs 30 amps, and the Nova 6 and Bridgeport 6 need 40. Budget $500 to $1,500 for the work.
How high does my ceiling need to be?
It depends on the cabin. The Nova needs about 24 inches of clearance above it, which rules out a standard 8-foot ceiling. The Bridgeport 6 is about 77.6 inches tall and stands under one.
Do I need a drain or a vent?
Complete cabins need no plumbing. Put them on a floor that tolerates water, and follow the heater manual on ventilation. Room kits need vents planned into the framing.
How much does an indoor traditional sauna cost?
Complete cabins in this guide run from about $6,000 to $16,399 before electrical work. A heater alone is $1,120 to $1,310, but the room around it is the real cost.
Is a traditional sauna hotter than an infrared sauna?
Usually, yes. Sun Home publishes a 230°F maximum for the Nova, and Almost Heaven says its heaters reach 180°F within an hour. Infrared cabins typically top out between 140°F and 170°F. Our Traditional vs Infrared Sauna guide covers the trade-offs.
Sources and verification dates
| Source | What it supports | Read on |
|---|---|---|
| Sun Home product pages, lineup table | Nova heaters, circuits, wood, warranty label and maximum temperature | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Sun Home warranty information | Nova heater and parts-only terms | Sept 2026 |
| Almost Heaven, Bridgeport 6 | Product, dimensions, benches, circuit and the $7,624 price | 29 Aug 2026 |
| Sauna Place, Bridgeport rustic cedar listing | $6,036 dealer price, 8 kW heater and included items | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Sauna Place, Bridgeport fir listing | $6,241 dealer price | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Almost Heaven, Madison | Madison size, heater and heat-up claim | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Almost Heaven customer reviews | Owner-reported Bridgeport assembly time | 2 Oct 2026 |
| West Coast Saunas, Finnish Sauna Builders kit listing | Kit contents and heater options | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Sauna Place, Finlandia collection | Finlandia founding year, heaters and precut kits | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Costco listing, Almost Heaven Sanctum | Sanctum heater, circuit and wood | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Bankroll Zen, Best Home Saunas | Harvia KIP price and sizes; electricity rate | 2 Oct 2026 |
| Bankroll Zen, Best Outdoor Saunas | Electrician cost range for a 240V circuit | 2 Oct 2026 |
Our Top Pick
Sun Home Nova 3
From $12,499
Before you buy
Where the premium is materials, not marketing
We take the spec sheets apart across saunas, cold plunge, red light and recovery — and show where the flagship price buys real hardware, and where it just buys the logo.
Disclosure: This article contains affiliate links. If you purchase through these links, Bankroll Zen may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. We only recommend products we genuinely believe in. Learn more in our affiliate disclosure.